Desperately Seeking Substance

I’ve been intensely bored lately.

Having no job seems like it’s all fun and games. You have all this time to do whatever you want, the world is your oyster! … As long as it doesn’t cost any money.

This summer has been both awesome and lame. I’ve gotten to do a lot of things with family that I may have not been able to do on a 9 – 5 schedule. I’ve gotten to go away for a weekend and decide to turn it into a week at the last-minute, which fits right into my hatred-of-all-things-planned kind of lifestyle. But what to do with all the other times when there isn’t anything to do? The random Thursdays where everyone else is at work and you’re stuck in the house trying to decide if you should go for yet another walk or just find a new bench to read that next chapter. And by the time you figure out which one sounds less monotonous today, you’ve spent the whole afternoon on Facebook.

Oh yes, my life is so glamorous.

And you’re probably like, ‘hey dumbass! You live in New York-fucking-City! There are thousands of things to do!’ True. Although, just about all of those things cost money. Surely I can go to a museum and skip paying the ‘suggested’ donation price, but then I’ll just feel like an enormous dick the whole time I’m trying to enjoy beautiful art. Plus, how many pictures can you really stare at before your eyes go goofy? I get bored easily, especially when alone. And don’t get me wrong! I love being alone. I cherish my solitude more than most, but after spending much of my time flying solo I would prefer to enjoy my art-gazing with a side of conversation. I”m just kooky that way.

So, what else is there? Shopping? No. Trying a new restaurant? Nope. Head for the gym? Can’t afford it. Get my nails done? Even if I had the money, I wouldn’t waste it on that. And so on.. you get the drift. Therefore, I try to get creative. I crochet, try to learn new things, I’ve even picked up cooking. Nice, low-budget hobbies that can keep me entertained (and productive) in the hours that I’m taking a break from the job search. But the problem today is that I’m still dog-sitting, which means I’m not at my own house. No yarn, because I chose not to lug my two current projects (already in full blanket mode) across the city and I don’t really enjoy cooking in someone else’s house, I can get messy. So, I’ve taken to walking with and without the dog. Walking at least five miles a day, up and down the city.

I realize this all seems very trivial. Most people would kill to have so much time on their hands and when I do finally get a job I’ll look back at these times with envious fondness. But the problem is that I’m bored with freedom.

That’s a huge problem.

I’m so bored that the Lisa who started looking for jobs with such a huge amount of dread and loathing for the working world doesn’t really exist anymore. She has turned into someone who would be willing to take just about anything just to have a purpose, and that’s not a good place to be. I don’t want to settle. I don’t have time to settle. I’m thirty-years-old and have to pick my next career carefully because chances are it will be the last one I’ll have. It’s a scary thought that has left me paralyzed with fear many nights. I didn’t go to college with dreams of falling into a position that didn’t leave me fulfilled at the end of the day. I don’t want to end up being the one who cheesily exclaims ‘I’ve got a case of the Monday’s’ after each weekend, dammit!

I suppose I’m still naive about it all. Chances are I’ll become the same blurry-eyed, office zombie that most people are because I have to make a living. It’s a realization that I’m slowly starting to slip into, though will never wear happily.

Now I will answer the question that everyone probably has on their minds, especially my parents': Why are you still unemployed, I’m sure there’s something you can do?
I shall reply with two simple answers:

  1. I said it above, I’m scared. I’m scared to become a corporate drone just going through the motions in a beige, lifeless office. I can’t imagine spending the next thirty years of my life waiting for five o’clock to slink along. Contrary to popular belief, I kinda like being busy!
  2. (And this is the kicker). Out of all the applications I’ve sent in, I still haven’t heard back from one person that wants to meet with me. This fact, of course, throws me down further into the lack-of-a-job death-spiral. Maybe I’m not as creative as I thought, maybe I’m not capable of having the kind of job I’m hoping for, maybe I’ve been totally wrong about myself all these years. Maybe I’m just not destined to write. These aren’t thoughts I like to entertain, but they are hard to ignore at times. Then I grab some vodka and drown my sorrows. Just kidding! …?

In the end, it all swirls around in this vicious cycle that is very hard to break out of. It renders me useless at times and ferociously determined at others, but the result, so far, has remained the same. But I know one day it’s all going to change and I’ll be lamenting the horrors of my working life too. Because apparently, I’m never happy. But let me make this clear; I am happy, but I also know there is more out there for me and I want to know what it is. I’m ready to leave limbo behind.

So! Whose got a job for me?

-xo

6 responses to “Desperately Seeking Substance

  1. So then you know what you do? Any job. And just kick it out while you look for something more dependable. In the meantime you can be blogging on the everyday that NYC is oh so good at giving up.
    You got a way with words kid. It would be most interesting to see your take on a nine to five. Just saying.

    • I’m working on the ‘any job’ thing, but I’m trying to keep away from retail and odd jobs and get one of those ‘real’ jobs. For some reason the universe doesn’t want me to get one, I’ve never had this much trouble getting anything before!

  2. I hear ya loud and clear about this job situation AND being bored. I hate more than anything in the world to have nothing to do and no money to do anything. I keep telling myself that every “no” is one step closer to a “yes” for that perfect job. You will get yours and when you do it will be fabulous and worth the wait. :-)

    • It’s the worst catch 22 on the planet, isn’t it? I keep thinking that I could at least be traveling, or enjoying things that those in the working world can’t on a daily basis. But nope! Oh well! A job will be a welcome change, eventually.
      I wish you luck in your search as well, that perfect fit is out there somewhere!

  3. Wow. Really great blog , let alone post. I stumbled across it while trying to get template ideas to create my own. This particular post caught my eye because I’m going through an unemployment slump myself at the moment (Embarrassed to say for how long…but let’s just say I just got out of my depressive state to even want to start writing again.) Until then, I’ve taken to retail :-P I find it demands the least amount of time and mental energy that I could use to truly search for what I call my “dream job.”

    Hopefully you’ve found something by now!

    • Oh, don’t be embarrassed about how long it’s been… I’m sure I’m right there with you! It’s quite an awful roller coaster ride. I still haven’t found what I’m looking for, but trying to make the most out of what I’ve got (odd jobs and the such). The worst part about all of this searching is that it’s drained my energy to write. I keep telling myself that I just have to dive right into it, but find an excuse to ‘put it off until tomorrow’. I really hope tomorrow comes soon because I have so much more to say, but I’m lacking the energy to organize it.

      Good luck on your search and with your blog!

Leave a Reply

